Voice Recognition

Nazareth Academy

Grade School

Social Studies


 The Social Studies curriculum at Nazareth Academy Grade School is developed and maintained in accordance with the Guidelines of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

The ten thematic strands of the National Council for Social Studies are integrated throughout our Curriculum in grades one through eight. They are:
  1. Culture
  2. Time, Continuity, and Change
  3. People, Places, and Environments
  4. Individual Development and Identity
  5. Individuals, Groups, and Institutions
  6. Power, Authority, and Governance
  7. Production, Distribution, and Consumption
  8. Science, Technology, and Society
  9. Global Connections
  10. Civic Ideals and Practices

In grade one the curriculum is based around understanding school and family life. In grade two, children study the neighborhood. In grade three, the community is studied focusing on how to share earth with others. In grade four, extensive concentration is devoted to the study of the state of Pennsylvania. The world is the focus in grades five and six by examining the geography, culture, and history of the Western and Eastern hemispheres. United States history is discovered in grades seven and eight.

In all grades the curriculum encourages participation in social justice outreach and community service.
© 2024. Nazareth Academy Grade School.
All Rights Reserved.

Our Mission Is Family